JDU MP Harivansh Narayan Singh speaks in the Rajya Sabha during the opening day of monsoon session of Parliament, in New Delhi on September 14, 2020. Photo courtesy: RSTV/PTI

NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh re-elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

Opposition had fielded Manoj Jha, but did not ask for a vote as it was clearly short of numbers

The Opposition parties on Monday let go of a contest for the post of Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha, allowing JD(U) MP Harivansh to be re-elected for a second time by voice vote.

Mr. Harivansh’s name was proposed by BJP president and party MP Jagat Prakash Nadda. Leader of the House Thawarchand Gehlot seconded it. The Opposition had fielded RJD MP Manoj Jha.

Leader of the Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad moved the motion for Mr. Jha, which was seconded by DMK MP Tiruchi Siva and Samajwadi MP Javed Ali Khan. The Opposition, however, did not ask for a vote as it was clearly short of numbers. Mr. Jha said the Opposition decided that Parliament should always be a ground for consensus and this was never a contest between two individuals.